To Kern or not to Kern, that is the question.

Starting my Saturday off with a little Shakespeare butchering. Whoo AHHAHHA.  So as you may or may not have noticed, I am in love with typography, but there is a minor inconsistency to that truth….I still sorta suck at kerning. *Flinches.  Please save throwing your tomatoes at my face till after reading my post.

I have been practicing my posterior (I have wanted to use that freaking word ALL week) off, even found a spiffy kerning game to practice with.  I have been improving, and by improving I mean sucking less.

I kern almost as well as a squirrel

That’s not to say that I haven’t been trying, but for a few days I was at my wits end and wanted to hire an assistant, whose sole purpose would be to follow me and kern my every sentence. Tempting, but not…morally right. Or so the angel on my left shoulder tells me.

I can’t live a lie, and that is exactly what I would be doing…even though I did have someone take me up on that offer because I think my absurd thoughts out loud. That person whose name will remain anon, is beyond magnificent!

In my search for the gleaming golden glorious secret to kerning, I have come to this conclusion: Kerning was creating for only the most anal-retentive-OCD-examine-every-detail-with-a-magnifying-glass-kind-of-person.  I am not such a person, which makes no sense seeing as I am a freaking Capricorn and we’re supposed to have that ingrained in our eyeballs.

My summer break will consist of me on a quest to find the unknown secret to kerning.  I am sure danger and intrigue will follow me every waking moment of the adventure, and there may even be pirates involved, I don’t know.

What I do know is, come next quarter this wench will be kerning like her blog so rightly deserves.

9 thoughts on “To Kern or not to Kern, that is the question.

  1. AMAZING post! I design fonts and I’ve always wondered about my kerning. Thanks for the link to the kerning game, also. I got 81/100, so I *guess* that’s not bad.

  2. kerning is just a ‘way of life’ when it comes to typography and producing stellar typographic work. it’s those fine-tooth OCD details that will set you apart from the rest. don’t worry, you’ll develop the designer OCD syndrome at some point. and the longer you design, kerning soon become second nature for you and you won’t even think about it. so kern on, sister!

    • That’s good advice. The early symptoms of designer OCD syndrome are starting to appear, since I posted this. Which I am beyond thankful for since I was worried something was wrong with me. Thank you for taking the time to read my post 🙂

Leave a Reply

